NALA Charity - Project: Diana

This is Diana, she is 27 years old and a single mother of 4 children

(Given 9 years, Chamela 7 years, Marly 5 years and Adriana 6 months).


I met Diana at the Art Center in Katutura/ Windhoek ( Namibia )

She was interested in my project and the NALA exhibition and asked me many questions.

She used to work as a security guard at the Art Center, one of the most boring jobs in the world.

One day she asked me if I would know about another job for her, but since I am just a guest here my answer was negative.


She wanted to really work, do something productive and not just sit around and stare into space.

We started talking and she told me that the exploiting security company she worked for paid its employees only after 2 or 3 months and less than it was agreed on. Most people here are glad to have a job at all, even if it only pays 75 Euros per month and they have to work all day without breaks…. (if you want to learn the whole story, I can send it to you through email)


I gave thought to the whole story and got her in touch with a friend who was looking for a cleaner.

But he wanted to pay her only about 70 NAM$ per day (about 5.50 €). So I kept looking and got an idea…

NALA will help and support Diana and I came up with a new job for her. I sold some of my paintings and from the returns I will buy her a sewing machine. This way Diana can sew more NALA products on her own. The returns from these products will benefit and support this project. Therefore I need many buyers for my NALA products!


I visited Diana at her mother’s place in Okahandja Park, one of the poorest parts of Katutura/Windhoek. It’s an informal settlement and the house was built with corrugated metal sheets and plastic canvas. There is no electricity or water in the house. The bathroom (outside far from the house) they have to share with several people. Her mother, who is supposed to watch the children while Diana is at work, is usually drunk and even ate up all the food that I had recently bought for Diana and her children.


Diana would like to move out there and build up a peaceful home for herself and her children.


If you would like to support “Project Diana”… this is your chance:


As soon as the support from you for this project reaches 100 Euro, I will get the amount from my account and buy the sewing machine for “Project Diana”.

Additionally 350 Euro are needed to support Diana to move into her own house and give her children the chance to live in a peaceful environment.


Here you can see how much support the project has gotten so far and when the project has been realized (every dot marks 10 Euro).


If you, as a supporter, would like your name to be published on the website I will do so of course. You can also choose what you want to support … the purchase of the sewing machine or a new home for Diana.



Sewing machine 


Zero €    O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O     200 € financed :-) 



Nikolai Sowa, Wellington / New Zealand  70 € 

André Pilz    130 €

Thank You very much.




Building Materials for a new Shack ( House )


Zero €  O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O                     O  350 € financed :-)



Alexandra and Steve Ulrich, Jena / Germany 100.00 €

Micha Messermann, Mainz / Germany 50.00 €

Elfie and Johannes Defér, Freital / Germany 50.00 €

Ines Schollenbruch, Leipzig / Germany 100 €

anonym Donator, Thuringia / Germany 50.00 €

Madlen Schiefer for all the Organisation

Marek for the entrance door,

Thank You very much


Anyway … today (17th of August) Diana came to the guest house where I am staying right now and together we worked on the first NALA t-shirts and she also came up with new ideas for more NALA products.


Just take a look at what she had made … hand-made! She is very motivated and has the energy to realize her ideas … she just need a little help to get started!


June 2014, Diana lives in peace in her new home together with her 4 kids. She worked on a daily basis job. 

Thank you to all donators.